Candidates File Declarations of Candidacy For November 5, 2019 Election Ballot

The Local Election Act (LEA) was passed by the New Mexico Legislature in 2018. The Local Election Act provides for consolidated local elections to be conducted in New Mexico. November 5, 2019 will be the first consolidated elections for the City of Albuquerque, the Villages of Tijeras and Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, the Albuquerque Public School Board, CNM, the Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo Flood Control District and the Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation Board. Voters will get one ballot for the races that pertain to them when they go to vote based on their voter registration.

On Tuesday, August 27, 2019, candidates were required to file Declarations of Candidacies providing them with the opportunity to withdraw or to confirm their candidacies. Following are the candidates for office as confirmed by the Bernalillo County Clerk’s Office:


District 2

Joseph Griego
Zackary Quintero
Robert Raymond Blanquera Nelson
Isaac Benton, Incumbent
Connie Vigil
Steven Baca

District 4

Athena Ann Christodoulou
Ane C. Romero
Brook L. Bassan

District 6

Patrick M. Davis, Incumbent
Gina Naomi Dennis

District 8
S. Maurreen Skowran
Trudy E. Jones, Incumbent


District 1
Yolanda M. Cordova
Madelyn A. Jones

District 2
Lauretta J. Harris
Peggy L. Muller-Aragon

District 4
Barbara E. Petersen
Laura W. Carlson
Verland O. Coker


CNM Board District 2
James A. Chavez

CNM Board District 4
Annette Chavez y de la Cruz

CNM Board District 6
Layne E. McAdoo
Virginia Lopez Trujillo

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District –
Position 1 Supervisor
Maria Christina Young

Position 2 Supervisor
Thomas Ivey Allen

Position 5 At-Large Supervisor
Daniel F. Lyon
Daniel A. Conklin

Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo Flood Control Area (AMAFCA)

District 3 Director
Tim Eichenberg

District 4 Director
Ronald Duffield Brown


Historically, city elections, school board elections, and New Mexico Community College, and Arroyo Flood Control District elections have occurred at different times throughout the year, they have been very costly and have historically low voter turn outs and at times in the single digits of the percentage of those registered to vote.
The consolidated elections should result in a significantly higher voter turnout and result in a reduced amount of money to pay for only one election as opposed to 4 or 5 elections.

This entry was posted in Opinions by . Bookmark the permalink.


Pete Dinelli was born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He is of Italian and Hispanic descent. He is a 1970 graduate of Del Norte High School, a 1974 graduate of Eastern New Mexico University with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration and a 1977 graduate of St. Mary's School of Law, San Antonio, Texas. Pete has a 40 year history of community involvement and service as an elected and appointed official and as a practicing attorney in Albuquerque. Pete and his wife Betty Case Dinelli have been married since 1984 and they have two adult sons, Mark, who is an attorney and George, who is an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT). Pete has been a licensed New Mexico attorney since 1978. Pete has over 27 years of municipal and state government service. Pete’s service to Albuquerque has been extensive. He has been an elected Albuquerque City Councilor, serving as Vice President. He has served as a Worker’s Compensation Judge with Statewide jurisdiction. Pete has been a prosecutor for 15 years and has served as a Bernalillo County Chief Deputy District Attorney, as an Assistant Attorney General and Assistant District Attorney and as a Deputy City Attorney. For eight years, Pete was employed with the City of Albuquerque both as a Deputy City Attorney and Chief Public Safety Officer overseeing the city departments of police, fire, 911 emergency call center and the emergency operations center. While with the City of Albuquerque Legal Department, Pete served as Director of the Safe City Strike Force and Interim Director of the 911 Emergency Operations Center. Pete’s community involvement includes being a past President of the Albuquerque Kiwanis Club, past President of the Our Lady of Fatima School Board, and Board of Directors of the Albuquerque Museum Foundation.